Parliamentary Elections and Referenda

Pursuant to Act No. 1432 dated December 1th, 2023, on Elections to the Folketing in the Faroe Islands, elections to the Folketing and referenda are led by an election board made up of 13 members appointed by the Faroese Government for a 4-year period.

The High Commissioner is in charge of announcing election dates, distributing advance vote materials, decisions regarding inclusion on the electoral register, as well as reporting election results to the Danish Ministry of Interior and Health.